Beginning of a Journey

Welcome, first-time viewers, to my first-time blog post! If you’re seeing this near the publication date, you’re probably viewing an ugly, plain, blue site with no personality whatsoever. Don’t be deceived! I have personality, but I also have no internet besides my smartphone. The formatting options on a smartphone are next to none, but I was so excited to start writing that I decided to go ahead, regardless of looks. Hopefully I can find a computer with internet access in the next few days.

Now that my obligatory “sorry my blog looks like crap” bit is out of the way, I can get to the nitty gritty. Why did I start this blog? I explain in a little more detail in my About page, but the gist of it is that I’m trying to decide if I’m an “extremist.” Now, I’m not talking about anything illegal, I’m talking about whether I’m a green liver and a crunchy person (and by green liver I don’t mean an organ that some consider a delicacy that has sadly gone bad and is no longer fit for human consumption). For those not in the know, to be green or live green means to live in such a way that you’re helping protect the environment, while being crunchy means that you like to make your own everything.

Why is this so important to me? Well, two other words that correlate with green and crunchy is naturalist and hippy. I don’t consider myself a hippy, and I don’t agree with all naturalists on all points. In fact, on some points I side with the dreaded “scientific community” and “big pharmaceutical.” So I’m at an impasse: how do I define myself? I think I might be a little green, maybe half, and kinda crunchy, thus the name of the blog.

I’ve decided to use this blog to address different points and relay different experiences that lead those around me to stare with raised eyebrows, all within the semi-safety and partial anonymity of the internet (although, as we all know, what’s on the internet stays on the internet forever, and no private information is sacred). This will also track my progress as I try to live a greener life. I’m not perfect, and I’m trying to change, but change is hard.

Leave a Reply

